PAX A920 Pro, Ingenico Move/5000 and Verifone card machines explained

Most of the terminals UK providers name on their own pages are made by PAX or Ingenico and branded by the provider that rents them to you: Tyl and takepayments name the PAX A920 Pro, Elavon names the Ingenico Move 5000 and DX8000. The model matters less than the contract around it, because the same A920 Pro costs £19.99 + VAT a month from Tyl and you cannot take it with you when you leave.

Specs from manufacturer datasheets; provider line-ups from each provider's own site, checked 1 November 2026.

Which UK providers use which terminal

ProviderTerminals it namesPublished price
Tyl by NatWestPAX A920 Pro (portable), PAX A50, PAX A80 (countertop), plus Tap to PayA920 Pro £19.99 + VAT a month; A50 £14.99 + VAT; A80 £13.99 + VAT; Tap to Pay £0 a month
takepaymentsA920 Pro card machine and the takepayments plus card machineNot published (quote only)
BarclaycardSmartpay Touch (shows the code A920), Portable (codes start iWL252; label DX8000), Countertop (codes start Desk5000; label DX4000), Flex (codes start Move5000), Smartpay AnywherePortable £18 + VAT a month (18 months); Countertop £16 + VAT (18 months); Smartpay Touch £29 + VAT (12 months); Smartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT one-off, no contract
ElavonIngenico AXIUM DX8000, Desk 5000, Move 5000, Lane 3600 and Axium RX5000 (PIN pads), Castles S1F2, S1F4 Pro, S1P and S1P2, Poynt P61CDX8000 shown at £22 a month; other terminals not published

Barclaycard's device codes come from its card reader help page, which lists the code printed under each reader; Barclaycard does not name the manufacturer there. Dojo, SumUp, Square and Zettle sell their own branded devices and do not publish a manufacturer model, so they are not in this table. Lloyds Bank Cardnet's comparison page was unavailable when we checked.

Manufacturer specs side by side

ModelTypeSoftwareScreenConnectivityBatteryPaper roll
PAX A920 ProPortable (4G handheld)Android (8.1 on the original datasheet; PAX now lists a Core version on Android 10 and a Duo version on Android 14)5.5 inch touchscreen (Duo Premium: 6.56 inch)4G, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth5150mAhOuter diameter 40mm (width not stated on the datasheet)
PAX A80CountertopAndroid 104 inch touchscreen4G/3G, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet and dial-upMains powered countertopOuter diameter 50mm (width not stated on the datasheet)
Ingenico Move/5000Portable (4G handheld)Telium TETRA3.5 inch colour display4G and/or 3G, Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth (by configuration)2900mAh58mm wide x 40mm diameter (25mm diameter option)
Ingenico AXIUM DX8000Portable (4G handheld)Android 106 inch touchscreen4G, 3G, GPRS, Bluetooth and Wi-FiUp to 3350mAh58mm wide x 40mm diameter
Ingenico Desk/5000CountertopNot published on the product pageTouchscreen (size not published)4G, 3G, GPRS, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and EthernetMains powered countertop58mm wide x 40mm diameter
Verifone V400mPortable (4G handheld)Not published in the installation guide3.5 inch colour displayBluetooth, Wi-Fi (2.4 and 5 GHz), 3G and 4G2890mAh57mm wide x 40mm diameter

Each model name links to the datasheet or product page the figures came from. Ingenico's roll size for the DX8000 and Desk/5000 is from its paper roll FAQ. "Not published" means the manufacturer's page does not state it.

The PAX A920 Pro card machine

The A920 Pro is an Android handheld with a built-in printer, camera and barcode scanner, so one device can take payments, print receipts and run apps. PAX's datasheet lists a 5.5 inch touchscreen (Duo Premium: 6.56 inch), 4G, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, a 5150mAh battery, and a size of 178.3 x 78 x 54.2mm, 390g with battery. PAX now lists two versions: the A920 Pro Core on Android 10 and the A920 Pro Duo on Android 14 (the original datasheet showed Android 8.1). If a provider offers you an A920 Pro, ask which version it is.

The Ingenico Move/5000 and DX8000

The Move/5000 is a keypad terminal with a 3.5 inch colour display, a 2900mAh battery and a size of 169 x 78 x 57mm, 320g with battery, running Ingenico's own Telium TETRA software rather than Android. The AXIUM DX8000 is its Android successor with a 6 inch touchscreen, which Elavon sells and which Barclaycard uses as the label on its Portable reader. If you want third-party apps on the terminal, you want the DX8000; if you want a terminal staff already know how to use, the Move/5000 is fine.

Verifone card machines

Verifone's current portable is the V400m: 3.5 inch colour display, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi (2.4 and 5 GHz), 3G and 4G, a 2890mAh battery and a 57mm wide x 40mm diameter roll. In our check of UK provider pages it did not appear in any small-business line-up. If you already have a Verifone, ask your provider whether it still supports that model before you rely on it.

Renting versus buying, for a £5,000 a month shop

Renting Tyl's A920 Pro costs £19.99 × 12 = £239.88 + VAT a year. On £5,000 a month of card takings that rental alone adds £19.99 ÷ £5,000 = 0.40% to your effective rate, before any transaction fee. Buying SumUp's Terminal outright costs £135 ex VAT once, the same as 135 ÷ 19.99 = about 7 months of that rental.

That does not make buying the winner: a provider that rents you a terminal may also quote a lower rate, and at £5,000 a month a rate gap of half a percentage point is worth £5,000 × 0.5% = £25.00 a month. Compare the total monthly bill, rental plus fees, not the hardware. Our costs by turnover table does that arithmetic at five volumes, and a free statement review does it on your own numbers.

Want the right terminal at a better rate?

Tell us what you take each month and we will compare terminals and rates for your business. Free, no obligation.

By submitting, you agree to our Privacy Policy and to being contacted about your quote. Free service, no obligation, and we never sell your details.

Frequently asked questions

Which UK providers use the PAX A920 Pro?

Tyl by NatWest rents the PAX A920 Pro at £19.99 + VAT a month, takepayments lists an A920 Pro card machine, and Barclaycard's Smartpay Touch shows the code A920 on screen. Each runs that provider's own software and keys.

Who uses the Ingenico Move/5000 in the UK?

Elavon lists the Ingenico Move 5000 as its wireless portable terminal, and Barclaycard's Flex card readers carry codes that start Move5000. Ingenico's datasheet gives it a 3.5 inch colour display, a 2900mAh battery and a 58mm wide x 40mm diameter (25mm diameter option) paper roll.

Is Verifone still used in the UK?

Verifone still makes the V400m portable terminal (3.5 inch colour display, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi (2.4 and 5 GHz), 3G and 4G). None of the four UK providers whose terminal pages we read on 1 November 2026 (Tyl, takepayments, Barclaycard and Elavon) names a Verifone model for new customers. If you have one, ask your provider whether it still supports it.

Can I reuse a card machine from another provider?

Usually not. A terminal only works with the acquirer whose security keys and software are loaded on it: takepayments explains that a bad/invalid MAC message is when the MAC keys between the terminal and the acquirer are out of sync. Rented machines also belong to the provider and go back when you leave. Before buying a second-hand PAX or Ingenico, get written confirmation from your new provider that it will load that exact model.